If you are a car owner and you are new to Maryland, it might be a new idea to have a state inspection on your vehicle. While many other states want you to have a state inspection on an annual basis, Maryland has different qualifications. When you live in the state, you need to know the basics so you can follow the rules.
What Needs State Inspection?
Maryland law states that you need to have your car inspected for state inspection in two situations. One, if your vehicle is registered in another state and you move to Maryland. In those cases, you will have 60 days to register in the state of Maryland and you have to have a state inspection as well. Two, if you are a resident and you purchase a vehicle you need to have a state inspection 90 days or less before you register the vehicle. This is only required for used vehicles. If you purchase a new vehicle out of state, it does not need the inspection.
Where Can You Get State Inspection?
The state will only accept certificates for the state inspection form authorized stations. They have to have Master Technicians on staff who are certified by the state to perform these safety inspections. The inspections will last anywhere from 45 minutes to an hour and a half depending on the type of vehicle and any issues that might be found during the state inspection. If you are unsure where to go, just give Preferred Automotive a call for an appointment. We have all of the certifications and qualifications you need for a valid state inspection.
What Does the Inspection Cover?
State inspections vary based on the type of vehicle, so different items may be inspected based on the qualifications necessary for each vehicle. But most state inspections cover things like brakes, steering, exhaust, safety belts, lights, and other crucial items that are needed for safety. There are also specific regulations regarding window tinting. The vehicle can’t have any red, yellow, or amber tinted glass and only the top 5 inches of a windshield can be tinted. If you have tinted windows and you want details, visit the MVA website for restrictions.
What if Your Vehicle Fails the State Inspection?
If you fail inspection, you will have a reason why and you will get a recommendation from the mechanic who performed the state inspection. You can then have the repairs done there or somewhere else. You have 30 days from the initial inspection to complete the car repair Rockville, MD and get a re-inspection. IF you want longer, you have to start over and pay any costs you paid before a second time.
If you need a state inspection, don’t visit somewhere that isn’t certified and waste your time. Instead, give Preferred Automotive a call today and set up an appointment for your vehicle inspection. You can reach us at 301-881-8530. You’re also welcome to stop by and ask questions. We’re located at 12356 Wilkins Ave, Rockville, MD 20852.